The Future Business Leaders began in New York State in 1946 when Dobbs Ferry High School was chartered as the first chapter in the state. Eighteen years later, on April 15, 1964, New York State was chartered as the thirty-fifth state association of the Future Business Leaders of America. New York has since grown to 4,000 members strong!

The state was originally divided into thirteen districts whose boundaries were set up in accordance with the State Education Department Planning Regions. Subsequently, due to its large geographic size and population, in 1981, District 1 was divided into two districts by county: District 1 Nassau (1N) and District 1 Suffolk (1S). This brings the total number of districts within New York State to fourteen. Finally, in 2001, District 3 was divided into District 3 North (3N) and District 3 South (3S) bringing the new total number of districts within New York State to fifteen.

In 1967 the New York State Association of FBLA came under the auspices of the Bureau of Business Education in the New York State Education Department in Albany. Mr. Hobart H. Conover, Chief of the Bureau of Business Education at that time, was named State Chairman; Mr. Elton T. Murphy, Associate of the Bureau, was named the first State Adviser. Today, our State Chairperson is Mr. Dennis Kagel, Supervisor of Occupational Education for the New York State Education Department. On March 20, 1970 FBLA received an absolute charter from the University of the State of New York. Within the first five years our state had grown to 125 chapters; after ten years New York State increased to 151 chapters.

Today, New York State strives to achieve a chapter total of 170, a membership of 3,853.

Honorary Life Members
1971:  Elton T. Murphy – NYS Education Department
1972:  Hamden L. Forkner, Professor Emeritus – Columbia University
1972:  Monsignor Charles H. Sewall – Utica Catholic Academy
1973:  Sister DeSales – St. Mark’s Faculty Residence
1974:  Raymond Dumser – National Commercial Bank & Trust Company
1975:  Robert G. Fleig – NYS Education Department
1976:  Hobart H. Conover – NYS Education Department
1979:  Willard R. Daggett – NYS Education Department
1981:  Mildred Frandino – NYS Education Department
1982:  Martha Altman – William H. Maxwell Vocational HS
1985:  Barbara Kagel – State Leadership Conference Staff Chairperson
1986:  Dennis Kagel – NYS Education Department
1986:  Deborah D. Donnelly – State Coordinator
1987:  Steve A. Donnelly – Auburn HS
1987:  Victor T. Ehre – State Advisory Board Member
1988:  Donna Clement – State Coordinator
1990:  Frank Basile – Shenendehowa HS
1990:  Herbert Yengel – Farmingdale HS
1991:  Fred Zuccala – Central City Business Institute
1992:  Eleanor Hayes – Little Falls Jr./Sr. High School
1993:  Paul Cramer – Rochester Riverside Convention Center
1994:  Josie Gaddy – Saunders HS
1995:  Margaret Swingle – Greece Athena HS
1996:  Nancy Latour – Business Development Center
1999:  John Jesse – IBM Corporation
2001:  Dorinne Williamson – Colonie Central HS
2003:  Edward Murphy – John Jay HS
2005:  Gloria LaSota – Cheektowaga Central HS
2005:  Anne Zeh – Cobleskill-Richmondville HS
2008:  Leslie Zuccaro – Little Falls HS
2008:  Barbara Peck – State Advisory Board
2011:  Eileen Multari – Mamaroneck HS
2012:  Debora Gaber – Clarkstown South HS
2012:  Anita Halstead – Monroe-Woodbury HS

NYS FBLA © 2017