This recognizes the outstanding leaders from the business sector who have contributed to the success of Future Business Leaders of America on the local, state, and/or national levels.

Each chapter may nominate one businessperson for the Businessperson of the Year award. The nominees must be members of the business sector, not students or educators.


  1. Nominees must be members of the business community. Persons who are full-time employees of educational institutions or departments of education shall not be nominated for the award; such nominees will be disqualified.
  2. Nominees must not have been named to this event at a previous State Leadership Conference.
  3. Two copies of the chapter’s report on the nominee must be sent to the NYS FBLA Board of Trustee Chairperson (refer to the current SLC Mailing) postmarked on or before March 1.
  4. The report must contain a biographical sketch of the nominee and a letter of nomination from the chapter.

The biographical sketch should include the following:

    • Years of participation in FBLA activities
    • Promotion of FBLA through presentations and seminars
    • Contribution to local or state chapter projects and activities
    • Financial assistance to, and sponsorship of activities for local and/or state chapter(s)

A panel consisting of one member of the New York State Board of Trustees, one state officer, and the State Chairperson will make the final selection of the state recipient. All decisions of the judges are final.

The businessperson selected as New York State FBLA’s Businessperson of the Year will be recognized as a National Businessperson of the Year at the National Leadership Conference.  All nominations received by the national association will be sent a certificate of recognition.

Past New York State Businesspersons of the Year Recipients
2014:  Kris Hughes — Rochester Riverside Convention Center
2013:  Mary Reina
2011:  Jim Brown — Rochester Riverside Convention Center
2010:  Beth Hunt
2009:  Rachel Goer — Journal News of Westchester County
2004:  Mark Hausner
2002:  Todd Spofford
2001:  Sheila Appel — IBM
2000:  Steven Morvay